Transportation and erection of the monument is being coordinated by an Organizing Committee chaired by Orest Dubas.


On Sunday, March 5, 2006, during the annual commemoration dedicated to Ukraine's Kobzar, a general community meeting was organized to establish a monument to Taras Shevchenko in Ottawa.  At this meeting, the main speaker was a guest from Winnipeg, the representative of sculptor Leo Mol, Mykhaylo Tytarenko, who clearly made the case for this memorial and explained what needed to be done to bring this statue to Ottawa.


For a detailed report of this meeting, read the following PDF file (164 kB)





Committee Creation

Committee Membership  

Orest Dubas (chair)

Marko Shwed (treasurer)

Nina Doroshenko (secretary)

Oleh Bielkin

Maryna Hrymych

Volodymyr Katrushenko

Bohdan Malyna

Halyna Mokrushyna

Fr. Cyril Mykytiuk

Fr. Ihor Okhrimchuk

Mykhaylo Ryndzak

Ron Sorobey

Ruslan Telipsky

Mykhaylo Tytarenko

Yulia Woychyshyn

Advisory Commission  

Fr. Andriy Onuferko

V. Shelest

John  Woychyshyn